Sligo Ladies Junior Championship Final

Cloonacool/Tubbercurry 3 - 8 St Farnan's 0 - 9

South Sligo's Town and Country Club, Cloonacool/Tubbercurry claimed the Bank of Ireland Cup following this eight point victory over St Farnan's on Friday evening last in rain swept Tourlestrane. The victory in no small way helped by a hat-rick of goals from former co star & All Ireland winner Louise Brett.

On a night of firsts for the Junior Championship, The Final being the first played under lights, a first final appearance for St Farnan's and a first time that a Double barrel name claimed the crown as well as a first time appearance in the decider. The winners were ahead from start to finish, to be fair though, St Farnan's kept trying to the very end even when all seemed lost.

It took both sides a while to settle in with the first score arriving on 7 minutes as Louise Brett converted a free. The losers could have been ahead as early as the second minute as C/T's Laura Mc Intyre was called upon to make a save. Their lead was doubled on 10 minutes as Caoimhe Gallagher sent over from play after a great run through St Farnan's defence following a pass from Sandra Rowley. St Farnan's replied immediately with a well worked score from Tara Kelly to open their account.

The first of the major scores arrived on 15 minutes as C/T's Laura Gannon was taken down in the large square. Louise Brett rolled the ball to the net to put a little daylight between the sides. Points followed from Brett and one in exchange from Imelda McNulty left 5 between the sides after 18 minutes played.

Tara Kelly narrowed the gap after 20 minutes and soon after the winners lost center back Ciara Gannon through injury being replaced by Sinead Surlis who would go on to play a stormer for the remainder of the game. Imelda Mc Nulty was off target 22 minutes in as the ball flashed the wrong side of the upright.

A Sinead Kilgannon point had the margin back to 3 as the game headed for injury time. It was in that injury time the winners kicked for home and more or less decided the destination of the silverware.first Louise Brett knocked over a rebound, she then hit the net and finally Laura Gannon sent over to conclude the first half scoring with Cloonacool/Tubbercurry holding a 2 - 6 to 0 - 4 lead

The losers commenced the second half in quick fire fashion but were unable to add to their score as they kicked no less than 5 wides in the opening 7 minutes as they more or less camped in the winners half of the pitch. Imelda McNulty converted a free for their first score of the half. In what was their first attack of the half the winners struck for their third goal, Louise Brett's dipping shot dropping under the crossbar beyond the reach of keeper Fidelma Mulligan.

There after the buzz appeared to go out of the game but to be fair to both sides they served up entertainment on a night that was far from perfect weather wise. Points from Imelda McNulty & Jacqui Mulligan narrowed the gap only for Louise Brett to convert 2 frees to restore the gap again. Towards the end Marie Ruane & Mulligan again pointed to end the scoring.

In the final minute the winners Management of Sinead McHugh and Colm McGee withdrew Kelly Hayes - who departs these shores in the coming days - to loud applause replacing her with Cliodhna Murphy.

Next up for the winners is Connacht Junior Club action on the opening weekend in October. Following the game the Bank of Ireland Cup was presented to the winning captain Helena Haran by Co Board Treasurer Martin Seery. Louise Brett was presented with the Player of the game award.

Scorers Cloonacool/Tubbercurry: Louise Brett 3 - 6, Caoimhe Gallagher & Laura Gannon 0 - 1 each

Scorers St Farnan's: Imelda McNulty 0 - 4, Tara Kelly 0 - 2 each, Sinead Kilgannon, Marie Ruane & Jacqui Mulligan 0 - 1 each.

Cloonacool/Tubbercurry: Laura Mc Intyre, Lisa Wynne, Orla Coleman, Sarah Kilcoyne, Aoife McTiernan, Ciara Gannon, Kelly Hayes, Laura Gillespie, Sandra Rowley, Caoimhe Gallagher, Helena Haran, Anita O'Hara, Laura Gannon, Louise Brett, Roisin Murphy. Subs used: Sinead Surlis for C Gannon (20mins), Niamh Ross for R Murphy (41mins) & Cliodhna Murphy for K Hayes (59mins).

St Farnan's: Fidelma Mulligan, Shannon Finegan, Marie Ruane, Vanessa Dunleavy, Ciara Kerins, Viriginia Mulligan, Grainne Reynolds, Jacqui Mulligan, Caroline Kilgannon, Leanne Dunne, Sinead Kilgannon, Louise Morrison, Tara Kelly, Imelda Mc Nulty, Elaine Cawley. Subs used: Shauna Dunne for G Reynolds, Geraldine Ruane for E Cawley, Deborah Kelly for T Kelly & Paula Hargadon for V Dunleavy.

Referee: Gus Chapman