Years of Heartache laid to Rest

There is no question where the Pride of the Moy award goes this week. It’s to St Michael’s NS, Cloonacool following their great victory over Geevagh NS by 0 – 9 to 0 – 5 in the Cumann na mBunscol 4/5 Teacher Final in Markievicz Park on Saturday last. Earlier in the week they defeated Achonry NS in the semi final to qualify for the Final for the first time in 14 years. Saturday’s victory bridged a 20 year gap to the School’s last success in the competition. Following the game the John Kent Shield was presented by Louise Lavin, Ironically a Geevagh Woman and the Chairperson of Sligo Ladies Board to the Team. After that it was onto a victory tour of the area commencing in McDonalds and ending up in the Community Park with a cavalcade, revisiting the times of the late 1990’s when up to six hundred cars and a van joined in the victory celebrations. For the Record the team that took home the Title were Siobhan Brennan, Niamh Brennan, Tara Carty, Aine Conway, Emer Conway, Eva Currid, Claire Gallagher, Eimear Gallagher, Shauna Gernon, Megan Grehan, Aoibheann Mc Elwee, Chloe Mc Kim, Catriona Mooney, Deirbhile Ross, Cliona Walker. The management being Ms kelly & Ms Casey. For the record along the way High Park, Corballa & Enniscrone fell in the Round Robin Series, Ballintogher fell in the Quarter Finals while Achonry bit the Dust in the Semi Finals. The Boys not to be outdone were unlucky to lose out in the semi final of their competition to Moylough NS, a Moylough side that went on to winthe Silverware. Cumann na mBunscol are to be complemented on the running of their Finals.